Fill ‘Er Up

Brrr… man, it’s cold ’round here. No better time to start tying.

One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to clean out the ‘ol fly materials collection (which I think is mostly composed of Tribble hair, considering how rapidly my collection is multiplying). I’m trying very hard not to buy new stuff until I reduce my old stock (with the exception of hooks). So I’ve been making a mix of classic patterns and slightly twisted ones just to use up stuff I have laying around.

I’ve very quickly filled up my smallie/streamer box with a variety of baitfish and craw patterns. I’ve also started experimenting with some Galloup-style flies, including a slight variation on the Zoo Cougar and a Sex-Dungeon-esque articulated streamer.

Zoo Cougar
Zoo Cougar(ish).
Menatha
This little articulated streamer just looks so sad.

Also still working on new craw patterns. What started as an abstract craw pattern ended up more as a sculpin-like thing. A second attempt yield better results.

Lazy Craw

Finally, I did get some trout flies taken care of, all variations of the pheasant tail nymph: my Two-Bit Nymph (because originally I only used two materials-peacock herl and pheasant tail fibers- in two steps, though now I’ve added a beaded thorax), the Mulie (a Redneck Pheasant Tail rip-off or hybrid between a traditional pheasant tail/pink squirrel? You decide), and a soft hackle pheasant tail.

Two-Bit Nymph.
Two-Bit Nymph.
Mulie
Mulie.
Soft Hackle Pheasant Tail.
Soft Hackle Pheasant Tail.

Still got a long way to go… both in the fly box and my materials pile.

Author: chesleyfan

I work, I fish, I write.

Leave a Reply

