10 Things I Learned Trying to Find Steelhead on the Bois Brule

I just got back from my first trip to the Bois Brule River for steelhead. I need time to digest the experience and do a proper write-up, but there’s a few things I learned over the past two days:

  1. Despite what etymologists might tell you, Bois Brule is actually French for “Never Stops Raining.”
  2. For $25, Walmart sells the best underwader pants ever: fleece-lined carpenter’s pants. Despite a slow leak in the right knee of my waders, I never felt cold nor wet.
  3. Dance Hall looks fishy, at least.
  4. Talk to Edwin at the DNR Headquarters, he’ll hook you up with a campsite.
  5. The only way to camp is with a canvas wall tent and wood-burning stove.
  6. Kyle Zempel makes the best homemade chili around.
  7. 1/4 cord of wood isn’t enough, and you knew that already.
  8. Teddy Roosevelt ate all the Coasters.
  9. Maybe this switch rod thing is not such a bad idea.
  10. Never start steelheading on the Brule. You’ll just be cold, wet, tired, frustrated, confused, angry, sometimes buzzed, perpetually hopeful despite evidence to the contrary, and likely unsuccessful… and then as soon as you get home you’ll only want to go back again.
Author: chesleyfan

I work, I fish, I write.

1 thought on “10 Things I Learned Trying to Find Steelhead on the Bois Brule”

Leave a Reply

