A Method For Attaching Your Tenkara Rod to Your Sling Pack

Matt Sment from Badger Tenkara was kind enough to sit in on our Alumni Event at the store today, and I noticed that he displayed a tenkara rod tube on the table by wrapping it in a pair of rubberized twisty tie-things. They ended up being a product call Nite Ize. I asked Matt if I could borrow them for a moment for an experiment.

20160910_142508

I grabbed the Nite Ize, the tenkara rod tube, and one of our sling packs. I lashed the tube to the sling pack using the overgrown twisty ties, so the tube laid across the top of the pack. It looked like this:

20160910_142658

The Nite Ize were flexible enough to allow for motion of the pack without constricting my movement while wearing it, and the slightly tacky rubber coating on the Ize kept the tube from slipping out of their grip. The positioning of the tube does not impede the use of any of the pack’s compartments, nor the water bottle holder. I can still slide the pack around from back to my chest when needed without trouble.

20160910_142714

If you’ve read this blog before you know that I’ve made some fishing trips with both a Western and tenkara rod. One of hang-ups I’ve encountered is trying to find a way to properly store the tenkara rod when not in use. Even when collapsed the rod is rather long (20-ish-inches?). For now I’ve placed the rod, sans tube, into a standard size backpack and allowed it to protrude from the top. It’s okay, but I don’t really like using a large backpack when fishing. It also exposes the rod to potential damage, or allowing it to slip from the backpack when making the rod move along the banks. I’ve been trying to find another solution for a while.

I think this is a great option, provided you don’t mind carrying a sling pack.around. The tube allows for safe carry of the rod with little possibility to losing it. It also doesn’t impede the standard carrying capacity of the sling pack. It doesn’t require the purchase of some fancy, specialized carrying device, and is easily removed when you don’t want to carry tenkara. Plus, the Nite Ize are about $5-10 for a pair, depending upon length.

If you are like me and have an interest in a) carrying a tenkara rod as an alternative/back-up to a Western rod; or b) a day hike-fish excursion with minimal equipment; and c) already own a sling pack; then this might be the ticket.

Author: chesleyfan

I work, I fish, I write.

1 thought on “A Method For Attaching Your Tenkara Rod to Your Sling Pack”

Leave a Reply

